Class Prophecy

Posted on Agosto 11, 2009

0


How time flies really!! I can still remember my first day in high school. I was so excited then. And now, I am excited again because of this affair, our JS Prom.
Yesterday, today but what about tomorrow?

CLASS Prophecy

I became a journalist. I took an scholarship examination to master my craft. I passed the examination with flying colors. So i have to stay in the US for two years given the study grant. I prepared my travel documents. I didn’t have a hard time securing the passport for Leonabel Matibag was connected with the Department of Foreign Affairs. I boarded the Cathay Pacific Airlines. “Sir, coffee or juice?” The flight stewardess asked. I was not able to answer her for her face face was so familiar to me. I realized she was Elena Nitro.

At the airport in US, Roger Briones, my very good friend fetched me. He married a nurse and they were staying there for good. I continued my studies in Harvard University. During my free time, I had a chance to cross the country of Canada. As i was having a nice time in Niagara Falls, know what? I met B-beth Liwag, Loribeth Velasco, Apolinario Laresma and Francisco Caraan there. We were happy to see each other again. I invited them to have a night clubbing. In one of the night clubs there, we found out that the “Stone Haven”, our high school band, Joel Matibag, Dennis Mendoza, Arnel Matibag, Jesus Marundan and Arman Rodriguez, who was married to Noerilyn Makalintal performed there. They told us that Jerwin Matibag with his wife, Annalyn Makalintal was once their customer too. They were happily married with two kids.

I went back to the Philippines. I found out that Imelda Marundan was at the Immigration so my baggage was not pirated at NAIA.

Upon arrival, I was invited to be a resource speaker in one of the School Press Conference. I was surprised to see Norylene Sarmiento. She was now the adviser of the Ang Biga, the school paper of my Alma Mater, Bigain National High School. She became an English teacher. She was excited to see me. I could sense that her feelings for me was still there. Norylene, still single, asked me to be their guest speaker on their graduation. Without batting an eyelash, I said Yes to her. That scene made me remember Maam Joh. She used to tease us when we were together. Bagay daw kami.

So i was with the familiar place again. Bigain National High School. What a great feeling! As i was talking before the graduating class, the atmosphere was nostalgic. Some of my former teachers were still there. Like Ms Joh Briones, Ms Belela, Mrs. Liwag, Mrs. Pascua and Ms Veronica Briones. Ms Bagui became Mrs. Briones, too. She was married to our Assistant Co, Mr. Allan Briones. I’ve heard that Mr. Perez, Ms Hernandez, Mrs Agno and Mrs. Remo have applied for retirement. Ms. Castillo went abroad.

After delivering the speech, some of my former classmates greeted me. Some of them were Lea Macaraig, Luisita Makalintal, Tommy Velazques and Melchor Detablan. Few of them like Mercy Mendoza, Ramil Carandang, Leah Lagaya and Glenda Alday had already their own families. Rene del Mundo and Alex Matibag were there too. We decided to have our Alumni Homecoming.

And that reunion brought us all together again.

Well, friends… these are just product of my wild imagination. Hope you bear with me..
________________________________________________________________________________________________
Delivered during our JS Prom.
Marami na sa kanila yung me sarili ng pamilya. Mga propesyonal na din pero malayo dun sa kwento. Hindi rin ako naging journalist pero i became their guest speaker five years ago… At least me natupad sa prophecy..
Si Norylene? hindi na uli kami nagkita after graduation. Balita ko, nakapag-asawa siya ng isang mayamang Tsinoy.